Race three starts at 17.02 – Deonarine on pole

Race three starts at 17.02 – Deonarine on pole

26 May 2024

The final GB4 race of the weekend at Donington Park is due to commence at 16.15, with Mayer Deonarine on pole position.

Race three is the reverse grid contest, with all drivers within 103% of the fastest qualifying time inverted. With all 15 drivers within that cut-off, the Graham Brunton Racing driver will head the field down to Redgate on the first lap.

The Canadian youngster will be joined on the front row by Fortec’s Dan Hickey, with teammate Jack Taylor and Fox Motorsport’s Megan Bruce on row two.

Behind them will be Bruce’s teammate Branden Templeton and KMR’s Chloe Grant, while Arden’s Leon Wilson and Graham Brunton Racing’s Callum Baxter fill positions seven and eight.

The race two top-10 will be completed by Elite Motorsport duo Alisha Palmowski and Finn Harrison.

This weekend’s race winners Linus Granfors (Fortec) and Brandon McCaughan (KMR) will start from 15th and 14th respectively.

“In karting I’ve started on pole but in cars, I haven’t yet! So it’s my first time and I’m a little bit nervous but I know that if I keep a calm and cool head I can just push on through the race and try and keep everyone behind me.

“I think in this weekend we’re struggling a little bit and the last race didn’t really go well for me. So I kind of prefer the dry at this track but whatever the conditions, I’m going to make the best of it.

“First is what I’m aiming for in this race, but a top-10 would be a good takeaway from this weekend.”

GB4 Championship, partnered by the BRDC, Donington Park race three grid:
1. Mayer Deonarine, Graham Brunton Racing
2. Dan Hickey, Fortec Motorsport
3. Jack Taylor, Fortec Motorsport
4. Megan Bruce, Fox Motorsport
5. Branden Templeton, Fox Motorsport
6. Chloe Grant, KMR Sport
7. Leon Wilson, Arden Motorsport
8. Callum Baxter, Graham Brunton Racing
9. Alisha Palmowski, Elite Motorsport
10. Finn Harrison, Elite Motorsport
11. Harry Burgoyne, KMR Sport
12. Marcus Luzio, Luzio.com
13. Liam McNeilly, Fox Motorsport
14. Brandon McCaughan, KMR Sport
15. Linus Granfors, Fortec Motorsport