GB4 race two: McCaughan splashes to maiden slicks and wings victory

GB4 race two: McCaughan splashes to maiden slicks and wings victory

01 April 2024

KMR Sport’s GB4 shootout winner Brandon McCaughan claimed his first slicks and wings victory in a wet second race of the weekend at Oulton Park.

The Irish driver started from pole position, and made a strong start to lead the field down to turn one. From there, he was able to maintain a strong lead to claim a maiden GB4 win.

The race was red flagged after a late accident at Druids for Finn Harrison, who had just moved into second place courtesy of a thrilling move on McCaughan's teammate Harry Burgoyne, and was charging down on the leader. That elevated Burgoyne to second and Fox Motorsport’s Branden Templeton to third, with the latter claiming his first ever car racing podium. 

Arden Motorsport's Leon Wilson claimed his best result yet with fourth place, ahead of Fortec's Linus Granfors.

Race one winner Alisha Palmowski was slow away at the start and dropped to eighth, but got her elbows out to fight back to sixth by the time the race was stopped.

Fortec's Dan Hickey earned his best GB4 result with seventh ahead of privateer Marcus Luzio, who defied a lack of car racing experience to claim eighth place in very tricky conditions. 

Fox Motorsport's Megan Bruce and Graham Brunton Racing's Callum Baxter completed the top-10. 

GB4 Championship, partnered by the BRDC, Oulton Park race two provisional result:
1.    Brandon McCaughan, KMR Sport, 6 laps
2.    Harry Burgoyne, KMR Sport, +3.766s
3.    Branden Templeton, Fox Motorsport, +8.262s
4.    Leon Wilson, Arden Motorsport, +10.216s
5.    Linus Granfors, Fortec Motorsports, +16.970s
6.    Alisha Palmowski, Elite Motorsport, +18.425s
7.    Dan Hickey, Fortec Motorsports, +28.694s
8.    Marcus Luzio,, +33.438s
9.    Megan Bruce, Fox Motorsport, +34.788s
10.    Callum Baxter, Graham Brunton Racing, +36.385s
11.    Jack Taylor, Fortec Motorsports, +46.598s
12.    Chloe Grant, KMR Sport, +53.291s
DNF. Finn Harrison, Elite Motorsport
DNF. Mayer Deonarine, Graham Brunton Racing