Championship leader Burgoyne tops Brands Hatch GB4 test

Championship leader Burgoyne tops Brands Hatch GB4 test

16 April 2024

KMR Sport’s GB4 Championship leader Harry Burgoyne was the quickest driver in testing on the Brands Hatch Grand Prix circuit today (Tuesday).

The young Scotsman, who scored three podiums at the Oulton Park season opener, was just over a quarter of a second clear of Elite Motorsport’s race winner Alisha Palmowski, with both topping two sessions.

Burgoyne was quickest in session one and the final session, which proved the quickest of the day, while Palmowski was the driver to beat in sessions two and three.

Palmowski’s teammate Finn Harrison was third quickest, 0.155s further back and 0.188s clear of Fox Motorsport’s Branden Templeton, with Arden’s Leon Wilson fifth, and all five recording their best times at the end of the day.  

Fortec’s Dan Hickey posted the sixth quickest time courtesy of his session two effort, just 0.009s away from Wilson and 0.027s ahead of KMR’s Chloe Grant, who returned to the Brands Hatch GP circuit for the first time since 2022.

Privateer Marcus Luzio, Fox Motorsport’s Megan Bruce and Idola Motorsport runner Aleksander Mizera completed the 10 runners.

The day was affected by the weather, with the morning running held on a wet track surface, before conditions improved in the afternoon, allowing for quicker lap times.

Action resumes at Silverstone next week on Thursday and Friday, ahead of the second event of the year on 27/28 April.

GB4 Championship, partnered by the BRDC, Brands Hatch Grand Prix circuit test combined result:
1. Harry Burgoyne, KMR Sport, 1m26.034s (session one)
2. Alisha Palmowski, Elite Motorsport, +0.280s (session one)
3. Finn Harrison, Elite Motorsport, +0.435s (session one)
4. Branden Templeton, Fox Motorsport, +0.623s (session one)
5. Leon Wilson, Arden Motorsport, +1.428s (session one)
6. Dan Hickey, Fortec Motorsport, +1.437s (session two)
7. Chloe Grant, KMR Sport, +1.464s (session one)
8. Marcus Luzio,, +1.481s (session one)
9. Megan Bruce, Fox Motorsport, +2.165s (session one)
10. Aleksander Mizera, Idola Motorsport, +2.961s (session one)