Race three starts at 15.55 – Burgoyne on pole

Race three starts at 15.55 – Burgoyne on pole

28 May 2023

The final GB4 race of the weekend at Donington Park is the full reverse grid encounter, with every driver inside 103% of the pole time inverted on the grid.

That puts Graham Brunton Racing’s Harry Burgoyne on pole position, with the 15-year-old lining up at the head of the grid in front of Fox Motorsport’s Sid Smith.

In the three encounters so far, including the rescheduled Silverstone contest, Burgoyne has taken seventh, 10th and ninth place finishes to put him seventh in the championship standings. He now has a chance for a first podium.

“I’m looking forward to it a lot” said Burgoyne. “It’s really exciting to be on pole for the first ever time.

“I need to prepare for it the same way I would in karting, just focus on getting a good start and going from there. My starts haven’t been bad this weekend, they’ve been better than at Silverstone.

“There’s going to be a bit of hard racing from the people coming through from the back to the front, and it could get mixed up.

“It’s going to be a different experience compared to starting from the back but I think we should be alright. I would hope to get a podium but a top-five finish is the target.”

Behind Burgoyne and Smith on the front row are KMR’s Jack Clifford and Evans GP’s Kai Daryanani, with the second KMR car of Jeremy Fairbairn and Fortec’s Ruhaan Alva on row three.

Alva’s teammate Aditya Kulkarni and Fox Motorsport’s Liam McNeilly start seventh and eighth ahead of Elite Motorsport duo Josh Irfan and Harri Reynolds.

Triple race winner and championship leader Tom Mills will have to battle through from 13th on the grid, with Dylan Hotchin and Thomas Lee behind him, having been outside the 103% cut-off in qualifying.

The race will be shown live and in full on the GB4 website, click here to watch.

GB4 Championship, partnered by the BRDC, Donington Park race three grid:
1. Harry Burgoyne, Graham Brunton Racing
2. Sid Smith, Fox Motorsport
3. Jack Clifford, KMR Sport
4. Kai Daryanani, Evans GP
5. Jeremy Fairbairn, KMR Sport
6. Ruhaan Alva, Fortec Motorsport
7. Aditya Kulkarni, Fortec Motorsport
8. Liam McNeilly, Fox Motorsport
9. Josh Irfan, Elite Motorsport
10. Harri Reynolds, Elite Motorsport
11. Cooper Webster, Evans GP
12. Colin Queen, Fortec Motorsport
13. Tom Mills, KMR Sport
14. Dylan Hotchin, Dylan Hotchin Racing
15. Thomas Lee, Evans GP