Mills romps to third successive GB4 victory at Donington Park

Mills romps to third successive GB4 victory at Donington Park

28 May 2023

KMR Sport’s Tom Mills stormed to a third victory of the weekend at Donington Park in race two this morning.

After passing Fortec’s polesitter Colin Queen during an epic first lap battle, he then found his way ahead of early leader Ruhaan Alva at Redgate on lap two. Alva had blasted from fourth to the lead after a jump start, and past the squabbling front row contenders to lead the early stages. But once Mills forced his way past Queen at McLeans, he quickly set about Alva and then powered into the distance in a complete contrast to yesterday’s close encounters.

Mills extended a lead of over five seconds by lap eight, and ultimately took the flag 7.3 seconds clear of his rivals.

Queen looked on course to take second having fended off Evans GP’s Cooper Webster for the whole race, but spun at Coppice on the last lap, handing second to Webster, though Queen had enough of a gap in hand to still claim the final spot on the podium.

Queen’s spin prompted a crazy final few seconds of the race, as Elite’s Harri Reynolds went off at the same corner moments later, having run ninth, while his teammate Josh Irfan and KMR’s Jack Clifford collided on the run to the Melbourne Hairpin two corners from home.

That meant KMR’s Jeremy Fairbairn jumped from fifth to fourth on the final lap, finishing ahead of Fortec’s Alva who took fifth despite his jump start penalty.  

Alva’s teammate Aditya Kulkarni claimed sixth ahead of the Fox Motorsport duo of Sid Smith and Liam McNeilly, who crossed the line side by side with Smith 0.094s ahead. McNeilly ran as high as fourth early on, but was nerfed out of the position at Goddards by Irfan on lap nine.

Graham Brunton Racing’s Harry Burgoyne kept his nose clean in all the drama to take ninth place, with newcomer Kai Daryanani completing the top-10 for Evans GP. His teammate Thomas Lee was the final finisher.

The final GB4 race of the weekend, the reverse grid encounter, is due to commence at 15.55, with Burgoyne Jnr due to start from pole.

GB4 Championship, partnered by the BRDC, Donington Park race two result:
1. Tom Mills, KMR Sport, 13 laps
2. Cooper Webster, Evans GP, +7.330s
3. Colin Queen, Fortec Motorsport, +12.953s
4. Jeremy Fairbairn, KMR Sport, +13.398s
5. Ruhaan Alva, Fortec Motorsport, +20.858s
6. Aditya Kulkarni, Fortec Motorsport, +21.783s
7. Sid Smith, Fox Motorsport, +24.389s
8. Liam McNeilly, Fox Motorsport, +24.483s
9. Harry Burgoyne Jnr, Graham Brunton Racing, +26.959s
10. Kai Daryanani, Evans GP, +28.354s
11. Thomas Lee, Evans GP, +57.713s
DNF. Josh Irfan, Elite Motorsport, 12 laps completed
DNF. Jack Clifford, KMR Sport, 12 laps completed
DNF. Harri Reynolds, Elite Motorsport, 12 laps completed
DNF. Dylan Hotchin, Dylan Hotchin Racing, 0 laps completed