Sherwood soars to victory in Brands Hatch race three

Sherwood soars to victory in Brands Hatch race three

11 September 2022

Elite’s Jack Sherwood battled his way through to victory in the final GB4 race of the weekend at Brands Hatch.

He started fourth, but led the majority of the contest to finish well clear of championship leader Nikolas Taylor, who extended his margin at the top again, with a fighting drive to second after overtaking Kevin Mills Racing’s Tom Mills late on.

Mills’ teammate Jarrod Waberski was fourth ahead of polesitter Chloe Grant who took fifth, while championship challenger Max Marzorati was sixth.

Front row starter Jessica Edgar claimed seventh ahead of Logan Hannah, who stalled at the start, with Megan Gilkes ninth after a visit to the pits.

Grant led the field away at the start, holding off an early challenge from Edgar, while behind, Sherwood had already forced his way up the order to challenge for the lead at Surtees and made the move stick at Hawthorns.

From there he was able to stretch his legs, holding a margin of over 4.7 seconds on lap eight as the other contenders battled through the field.

Grant held a podium position for several laps, but was eventually passed by Mills and Taylor, who moved into the top three by lap six.

Taylor, who had started eighth on the grid, then set about chasing down the KMR driver, and did so on lap eight with a feisty move exiting Hawthorns. But by now, the gap Sherwood had built was too big, and though the championship leader was able to close the gap down to 2.7 seconds across the next four laps, Sherwood was never under threat and claimed his second win of the year.

For Taylor though, his second place finish and six place gain means he further extends his championship lead over Marzorati heading to Donington Park on 15-16 October.

GB4 Championship, partnered by the BRDC, Brands Hatch race three provisional result:

1.    Jack Sherwood, Elite Motorsport, 12 Laps
2.    Nikolas Taylor, Fortec Motorsport, +2.755
3.    Tom Mills, Kevin Mills Racing, +4.205
4.    Jarrod Waberski, Kevin Mills Racing, +4.33
5.    Chloe Grant, Graham Brunton Racing, +11.628
6.    Max Marzorati, Hillspeed, +12.791
7.    Jessica Edgar, Fortec Motorsport, +19.970
8.    Logan Hannah, Graham Brunton Racing, +43.019
9.    Megan Gilkes, Hillspeed, +1 Lap